What to do with eggplant?

A few days ago I was trying to decide what to do with eggplant. I came across a recipe in The Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen by Donna Klein that sounded good called Rotelle with Mixed Summer-Vegetable Sauce on pg.119. It has onions, garlic, eggplant, zucchini, red bell peppers and tomatoes, yummy. It turned out awesome, it’s a keeper. (Update: I posted the recipe here.)

I don’t have before and after pictures of the ingredients because I made it before I started this blog. I did have it for leftovers last night and took pictures. I paired it with some fresh made pumpernickel bread and some kalamata olives.  It was amazing.

Rotelle with Mixed Summer-Vegetable Sauce

I used a small loaf pan for the bread, it makes just the right amount for tonight’s dinner and tomorrow’s lunch.

pumpernickel bread

For dessert, I had some ice cream made with coconut milk, it’s dairy-free. As far as I can tell from the ingredients it is vegan, yea! Have you tried this stuff? It’s amazing, my favorite flavor is chocolate… it tastes like a mounds (you know almond joy w/out the almond). Last night, I tried the cookie dough, it’s really good!

coconut milk ice cream - cookie dough

4 thoughts on “What to do with eggplant?

    • I’m new to eggplant. I’ve mostly only had it at Italian restaurants as one of the few vegetarian options, eggplant parmesan. But now that I’ve given up egg and dairy, I won’t be having that dish. It will be fun to explore the other ways to enjoy this beautiful purple plant.

  1. This is not a food question…or comment.
    Just wanted to let you know that Greta and I have missed you and ‘little-bit’. We had to go to the Duke street dog park for company this past week-end. She kept asking why haven’t we been here before? (we found access to a stream and someone lent us a tennis ball).
    Also on the local front…saw Tyson at the dog park this evening. He was spoiling for a wrestle and Greta (tomboy that she is even at 7 years old)–managed to wrestle him to the ground. Again. And again. And again. Girls rule!
    On the food front–I had some peaches I had purchased for a pie to celebrate the return of #1 Son from Japan. Pie was not made due to a very Exciting Birthday Party for a one year old. Eventully the peaches travelled to CT. They appeared in a pie which my mother –a great pie baker in her day– said would go down in history. The gold standard for pies.
    You also missed the small white wire haired terrier “Bruce Lee” squeezing through the bars to say hello to the tiny dog ‘little-bit’ has the hots for.
    Ciao!

    • Sounds like we’ve missed lots… I’ve been going to the dog park a bit too early and no one is there, it’s buggy and I convince ‘little-bit’ to go home… We’ve been missing you guys too. You were away for a while, Dex went South for a few weeks, so I’ve just been hanging out. Hope to see you guys soon. :)

Leave a Reply

